You must be logged in to post messages.
Please login or register

General Discussions
Moderated by Maffia, LordKivlov, JimXIX

Hop to:    
Welcome! You are not logged in. Please Login or Register.10 replies
Age of Empires III Heaven » Forums » General Discussions » An Idea For Future AOE Games
Bottom
Topic Subject:An Idea For Future AOE Games
ultimitsu
Skirmisher
posted 02-12-08 09:38 PM EDT (US)         
I was playing Tekken DR earlier today, and realised that why can't ES do the same as Namco did with AI - let the computer learn from the human player, and create a "Ghost Player", who plays the same way as the subject human player, and used as computer opponent AI.

Wouldnt it great if you can play against top player's Ghost AI? or play against your own Ghost AI? what an amazing experience and learning opportunity that would be!

I am not an AI programmer, but I dont think it would be too difficult, to get some ideas going, these are my thoughts on what the computer should learn.

For the given distinguish the given map, given civ and given opponent civ:

1, explorer priorities - looting or exploring, which type of treasure to get, etc.
2, deck choice and card play order
3, unit choice based on explored information
4, strategy choice between rush, defensive FF, naked FF, and semi-ff, based on explored information
5, number of vils age up (really have to stop doing the retarded 5 houses + 3 outpost age1)
6, unit micro habits, AI is capable of infinitely accurate and efficient micro, of course we dont need the ghost to be that good, just whatever that reflects the given player's actual skill.

yes I realise it may take many games to create a good ghost AI, but look how Sioux games has Amasis played!

Some of you will think this could be very time consuming to program, well i think it would really evolve very quickly if ES allows everyone to help in programming this game engine ability, just like what people can do with quake engines and war craft 3 engines.