You must be logged in to post messages.
Please login or register

General Discussions
Moderated by Maffia, LordKivlov, JimXIX

Hop to:    
Welcome! You are not logged in. Please Login or Register.23 replies
Age of Empires III Heaven » Forums » General Discussions » My Age of Empires 3 Timeline, from Organization to Chaos.
Bottom
Topic Subject:My Age of Empires 3 Timeline, from Organization to Chaos.
TheRomans
Skirmisher
posted 04-23-08 00:43 AM EDT (US)         
This post is my evaluation of a game, in the form of a time line, that was once unique and organized to utter Chaos. I will start with the time I started playing AoE3 online(Vanilla 1.06/7) to the time I stopped.(TAD 1.01a)

1.06/7
When I started playing in 1.06/7 the Germans and Ports were all the rage and it was suicide to do anything but FF. But at this time LC was king and had no clearly defined counter unit outside of heavy infantry, but that was largely ineffective. Yet even with the LC imbalance, the game still had a clean class system with the exceptions being Abus Guns, Grenadiers, and Lancers.
With the FF and Germans nerfed and *LI now being the counter to RC, the game was fairly close to balanced. Spain and Russia had taken the number 1 and 2 spot. Spain still had an overpowered FF and Russia Strelet Spam was just beastly. This patch Longbows were evaluated, but were really more overhype than overpowered.
1.09-1.10
With Spain nerfed, Russia was considered the strongest, but the game was very close to being perfectly balanced with classes still pretty clean.

The War Chiefs