You must be logged in to post messages.
Please login or register

General Discussions
Moderated by Maffia, LordKivlov, JimXIX

Hop to:    
Welcome! You are not logged in. Please Login or Register.No replies
Age of Empires III Heaven » Forums » General Discussions » AOE 3 Asian Dynasties guide to Dutch (Early attack with Turtle)
Bottom
Topic Subject:AOE 3 Asian Dynasties guide to Dutch (Early attack with Turtle)
deeps28
Skirmisher
posted 10-07-17 01:29 PM EDT (US)         
Hello guys. This is my first post regarding AOE3. I have been playing the game for over 3 years now. I wanted to share my experience playing with one of the most unique civilizations of all - Dutch.

They are unique in a way that their villagers cost coin instead of food. You would think that this is going to play into the hands of the Dutch, as they don't have to waste food on villager production. WRONG. While other civilizations don't have to even think about gold (except when the want to do a rush), Dutch have to keep a constant flow of gold. This can be hard to start with, but once you start getting used to it, you will get the hang of it.

Usually while playing with Dutch, I do a small early attack just to mess with the opponents early age economy. It works out against a few civs, like ottomans, english, russian. DO NOT RUSH SPANISH AND FRENCH WITH DUTCH. If you're playing 2v2 or 3v3, target the one who reached the 2nd age last among your opponents, that way you can be sure he has very little army to defend. Now, coming to the troop comp, it is better to take 10 skirmishers and target villagers farther away from the TC for your skirmishers to avoid getting TC fire.